Together We Can Make a Difference

Current Focus: Gujarat Carnage: The Aftermath  
What is New
What You Can Do
Relief - Rehabilitation
News / Analysis
A Cry for Justice
Community Response
Corporate Social Responsibility
Site Map
home > Community Response  > Writers and Artists to Unveil a Symbolic Structure of Wali's Mazar

Related Material

Report of Minutes of Meeting held of the Forum of Artists 9 th July 2002, New Delhi

Sahmat exhibition gets big response
HTC, Friday, March 22, 2002

New Delhi The response to the photo exhibitions and sale of artworks organised in the Capital to raise funds for relief and rehabilitation of the riot victims in Gujarat has been overwhelming with the sale crossing Rs 3 lakh on Thursday. ..

This was announced by the Safdar Hashmi Memorial Trust (SAHMAT), which has organised the exhibition. SAHMAT had urged the artists to send their works for the sale. Over 121 works were collected, which included many of well-known artists like Satish Gujral, Arpana Caur and Jatin Das.

Ethnic Cleansing In Ahmedabad: A Preliminary Report, SAHMAT, Fact Finding Team To Ahmedabad
Ahmedabad, 10-11th March 2002

Search Sahmat on Google

New Delhi
Writers and Artists to Unveil a Symbolic Structure of Wali's Mazar on 27th May, 2002

Dear Friends,

The meeting of writers and artists held on 13th May, 2002 at Triveni Kala Sangam (New Delhi) resolved to press for early restoration of Wali Dakani Gujrati's Mazar and Faiyaz Khan Sb's tomb to its glory along with the demands of removal of the BJP government in Gujrat , prosecution of Narendra Modi and proper relief to the affected.

All of us would be meeting on 27th May, 2002 at 6 pm at among Ghalib ki Mazar at Nizamuddin [New Delhi] where eminent poets and writers from all languages would recite Wali's and Ghalib's poetry and many of their own.

A symbolic structure of Wali's Mazar would also be unveiled there.

For the protest to be impressive, powerful and effective we need to be there in large number.

Kindly be there with your friends,

Kunwar Narain, Nemichandra Jain, Ustad asad Ali Khan, Prerna Srimali, Lila Samson, Jatin Das,Ashok Vajpeyi, Namvar Singh, Keki Daruwala, Wasiffuddin Dagar,Urvashi Butalia, Geetanjali shri, Vivan Sundaram, Geeta Kapur, Ram Gopal Bajaj, Rekha Awasthi, Shamsul Islam, Ashok Lal, Apoorvanand, Sehba, Jaya Aiyer